The Council

Ray Nkonyeni Municipality


Ray Nkonyeni Municipality is comprised of 71 Councillors; 36 Ward and 35 PR Councillors. 

Council is the highest decision making body of the municipality with powers to delegate some of its functions from time to time. non delegated functions are:

  • Approval of budgets and Tarriffs of charges
  • Raising of loans
  • Approval of the IDP

The council conducts its day activities through various committees namely:

  • Executive Committee
  • Portfolio Committees
  • Sub-committees and other ad-hoc committees

Full Council meetings take place on the last Tuesday of every month.